Follow

05.07.01.B. Login Limits - Overview

Preventing Access from Unauthorized Computers

MJ Freeway GramTracker and GrowTracker now allow you to control which computers have access to your system, allowing you to ensure that your employees are only logging into your system when they’re actually on site.
Each user can be individually configured to be allowed to login from anywhere.

Overview:

Once an administrator enables Login Limits, if a user does not have permission to log in from any computer, and the computer has not been authorized for any user, the following message is displayed on login.
If the computer has been authorized, than any user can log in from that computer and logging in will work normally.
If a user has permission to authorize computers, an extra setting will be available after login. Once the “allow other users to log in using this computer” box and been checked and saved, any user can log in using that computer.


This checkbox will not appear until login limits are enabled.
Settings for a computer are actually specific to each browser, so make sure to enable logins using the most common browser on a computer.

Setting Up Users:

We recommend that you configure settings for each user before enabling login limits.  Though these settings can be configured at any time, they don’t take effect until login limits are enabled.

To allow a user to log in from any computer:

  1. Go to Admin > Manage Users
  2. Find the user you wish to modify and click the name
  3. Check the box for: “Allow this user to log in from any computer”.

Note: Store and Grow Administrator users are always allowed to log in from any computer

 


To allow a user to authorize a computer for other users:

  1. Go to Admin > Manage Users
  2. Find the user you wish to modify and click the name
  3. Check the box for: “Allow this user to log in from any computer”.

Note: Admins are always allowed to log in from any computer

Note: This must be checked in order to authorize computers

  1. Check the box for: “Allow this user to authorize a computer for other users”.


Upon next login, if login limits are enabled, this user will now have an additional setting that will allow them to authorize the computer they are using to log in:


 

Turning On Login Limits:

To turn this feature on:

  1. Log in as an administrator
  2. Go to Admin > Settings > General
  3. Expand the Login Limits section
  4. Check the box to “Limit logins to authorized computers”

Once you save changes, login limits are enabled, any users that are currently logged in will be able to continue to use the system.  Once they log out, users will not be able to log back in unless they have been authorized to log in from any computer, or the computer they’re logging into has been authorized.

Other Features:

Deauthorizing all computers

If you wish to immediately deauthorize all computers due to a security breach or other concerns:

  1. Log in as an administrator
  2. Go to Admin > Settings > General
  3. Expand the Login Limits section
  4. Click the button to De-authorize All Computers

This will not log out any users, but will prevent unauthorized users from logging into unauthorized computers on next login.

Log out all Users

If you wish to immediately log out all users due to a security breach or other concerns:

  1. Log in as an administrator
  2. Go to Admin > Settings > General
  3. Expand the Login Limits section
  4. Click the button to Log Out All Users

This will immediately log out all users except you.  This will not prevent people from logging back in unless their account or computer has previously been deauthorized.

Setting Computer Defaults:

Another feature of Login Limits is the ability to specify the default Location, Register, and Budtender Station for a computer.  

When a default is specified, all users that log into that computer will automatically have those values selected for them.  This is very useful in multi-location systems and for organizations that have a specific computer or cash drawer tied to a specific register in the system.

The New Login Screen:

No Defaults Set

The User Location screen has been redesigned into a one step process.  Upon login, you will see up to three Location settings on one screen (depending upon what features are enabled on your system):

When the Location is changed, the Register and Budtender Station drop downs will automatically be repopulated with the correct values for the new Location.

Some Defaults Set

If some defaults have been set for this computer, and a user is not given permission to change the defaults, those values will not be able to be changed.  In this example, the Location has been set to the main Location, but the user can still select the appropriate Register and Budtender Station.

All Default Set

If all of the defaults have been set for a computer, then the user will not be prompted for any of the settings.  All appropriate values will be set, and the user will see the Patients screen immediately after login.

Overriding and Setting Defaults

Individual users can be given permission to override and set defaults for a computer.  This is a per-user setting and can be enabled for any user.  Admins users always have all settings enabled.

Overriding Defaults

To allow a user to override the defaults for a computer:

  1. Log in as an administrator
  2. Go to Admin > Manage Uesrs
  3. Click the name of the user you wish to edit
  4. Check the box to “Allow this user to override the default Location, Register, and Budtender station settings for a computer”.



Once set, the appropriate defaults will still be set on the User Location screen, but the user will be allowed to override them.  If all the values have been set, then the User Location screen will be skipped, but the user will be able to modify the settings for the current session by clicking the register link in the header.

Setting Defaults

To allow a user to set the defaults for a computer:

  1. Log in as an administrator
  2. Go to Admin > Manage Users
  3. Click the name of the user you wish to edit
  4. Check the box to “Allow this user to override the default Location, Register, and Budtender Station settings for a computer”
  5. Check the box to “Allow this user to set the Default Location, Register, and Budtender Station settings for other users of a computer”


Once set, upon login, the user will be presented with the opportunity to set the defaults for a computer on the User Location screen:


Select the appropriate values and then check the “Set as Default” box to set these values for all users of this computer.
Users may also unset all defaults by clicking the appropriate button.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments